Coupon Accepted Successfully!



  • In Federalism authority is divided between sub-units and a center.
  • The allocation of authority between the sub-unit and center may vary.
  • Citizens are governed by the different tiers of government in a Federal government
  • To safeguard and promote unity of the country are the two main objectives of a Federal System
  • The Indian Union is based on the principles of federalism.
  • The Indian constitution provides for a 3-tier system – The Central Government, the state governments and the Panchayats and Municipalities
  • All the States in the Indian Union do not have identical powers- example Jammu and Kashmir
  • There are some units of the Indian Union which enjoy very little power. They are called Union Territories
  • The Indian Parliament cannot change any arrangement on its own. The High Courts and the Supreme Court make a decision in case of any dispute about the division of powers.
  • In India the real success of federalism can be attributed to the spirit of federalism; respect for diversity and desire for living together
  • Independent India faced two major issues - Linguistic States and Language policy
  • No language was given the status of national language by our Constitution.
  • Hindi was identified as the official language; States too have their own official languages.
  • Decentralization and local governance are central issues in India today
  • Self-governing village communities had existed in India from the earliest times
  • Village Panchayats became central to the ideological framework of India’s national movement under the leadership of Mahatma Gandhi.

Test Your Skills Now!
Take a Quiz now
Reviewer Name