Coupon Accepted Successfully!



  • Power sharing is a term used to describe a system of governance in which all major segments of society are provided a permanent share of power
  • Belgium has a very complex ethnic composition.
  • The population of Sri Lanka is diverse, with 74 per cent of Sinhalas and 18 per cent of Tamils
  • Sinhala supremacy was established by the democratically elected government by adopting a series of Majoritarian measures.
  • Equal representation of both the communities, has made the Belgium government a unique one.
  • In Belgium and Sri Lanka the question of power sharing was dealt with differently.
  • Power sharing helps to reduce the possibility of conflict between social groups the very spirit of democracy is power sharing
  • There are 4 forms of Power sharing - Horizontal distribution of power; Federal government; Community government and Coalition Government.

Test Your Skills Now!
Take a Quiz now
Reviewer Name