Coupon Accepted Successfully!


General Assembly

There are 192 member countries of the UN and each country has one vote in the UN General Assembly. The UN meets in regularly under a president. The president is elected from among the representatives of the member countries.

The General Assembly is like a parliament where all the discussions take place. But the General Assembly cannot directly interfere in a conflict between different countries.

The United Nation Organisation


Security Council

The fifteen-member Security Council of the UN takes crucial decisions. The Council has five permanent members

  • The USA
  • Russia
  • The United Kingdom
  • France
  • China.
  • Ten other members are elected by the General Assembly. They are members for a two-year terms.
    The real power is with the five permanent members.

    Each permanent member has veto power, i.e, the Council cannot take a decision if any permanent member says no to that decision.

    The USA, contributes most of the money needed for the maintenance of the UN.

    Security Council

    International Monetary Fund (IMF)

    International Monetary Fund (IMF) is one of the biggest moneylenders in the world.

    Its 173 member states.

    All the member states do not have equal voting rights. The vote of each country is weighed by how much money it has contributed to the IMF.

    Nearly half of the voting power in the IMF is in the hands of seven countries, namely the US, Japan, France, UK, Saudi Arabia, China and Russia. The remaining 166 countries have very little say in how these international organisations take decisions.

    Test Your Skills Now!
    Take a Quiz now
    Reviewer Name