Coupon Accepted Successfully!


The Ganga

The Ganga starts its course at the Gangotri Glacier.

The Bhagirathi is a major tributary of the Ganges River. Together with the Bhilangana it arises in the Badrinath Range of Uttarakhand, India.

The Confluence of the Bhagirathi and the Alaknanda at Devprayag.

(i) The Ganga emerges from the mountains on to the plains at Haridwar

(ii) The Yamuna, Ghaghara, Gandak and the Kosi are some of the major tributaries of the Ganga which start from the Himalayas.

(iii) The Chambal, Betwa and the Son are the tributaries which stat from the peninsular highlands.

(iv) The Ganges river continues its course eastward and splits into two at Farakka in West Bengal.This is the northern most point of the Ganges.

(v) From this bifurcation point, the southern stream continues its course eastward and forms the Ganges delta in West Bengal and the northern stream enters Bangladesh and is joined by the Brahmaputra River. The two rivers, the Ganga and the Brahmaputra. which have merged , is called the Meghna. river.

(vi) The Meghna river forms the Sundarban delta before joining Bay of Bengal.

The Ganges Delta

The Ganges delta has the shape of a triangle, and is considered to be an "arcuate" delta It covers more than 105,000 sq. km, and although the delta proper lies mostly in Bangladesh and India, rivers from Bhutan, China, and Nepal drain into it from the north. Approximately two-thirds of the delta is in Bangladesh. Most of the delta is composed of alluvial soils. Red and red-yellow laterite soils can be found farther east. The soil contains large amount of minerals and nutrients, which is good for agriculture.

Sundarbans Mangrove Forest

The Sundarbans delta is the largest mangrove forest in the world. It lies at the mouth of the Ganges and is spread across areas of Bangladesh and West Bengal, India.

Test Your Skills Now!
Take a Quiz now
Reviewer Name