Coupon Accepted Successfully!


The Indus

Let us learn a little more about the Himalayan rivers.

The major Himalayan rivers are:-

1. The Indus
2. The Ganga
3. The Brahmaputra



The river and its tributaries are called a river system. (A tributary is a stream that joins a larger stream or river)



River basins in India


1. The Indus River System

The Indus river

The Indus has its source in Tibet. It begins its journey near lake Mansarowar

(i) The Indus enters India in the Ladakh district of Jammu and Kashmir.

(ii) The Zaskar, Nubra, Shyok and the Hunza are the main tributaries that feed the Indus in the Kashmir region.

(iii) The Satluj, Beas, Ravi, Chenab and the Jhelum join together to enter the Indus in Pakistan.

(iv) The continues its journey southward and merges with the Arabian sea.

(v) The plains on either side of the Indus river have a gentle slope.

(vi) The Indus is 2900 Km. long. It is one of the longest rivers in the world.

(vii) One-third of the Indus Basin is situated in India and two- thirds of the basin is situated in Pakistan

The Indus has formed a natural boundary between the Indian hinterland and its frontier with Afghanistan and Iran. It has been crossed by the armies of Alexander the Great - Greek forces retreated along the southern course of the river at the end of the Indian campaign. The Indus plains have also been under the domination of the Persian empire and the Kushan empire. The Muslim armies of Muhammad bin Qasim, Mahmud of Ghazni and Babur also crossed the river to strike into the inner regions of Gujarat, Punjab and Rajputana.

The word "India" is a reference to the Indus River. The term is derived from the name of the Sindhu (Indus River)

The Indus Valley Civilization (3000–1500 BC, flourished –1900 BC), was an ancient civilization that flourished in western South Asia, primarily in the Indus valley.

Test Your Skills Now!
Take a Quiz now
Reviewer Name