Coupon Accepted Successfully!


Decolonisation and Sport

India gained Independence from British rule in the year 1947. Decolonisation of other countries under the British Empire soon followed.

Let us trace the history of cricket from 1947 to 1970.

  • During the early 1900s the ‘Imperial Cricket Conference’ (ICC) was the governing body for the game of cricket. It laid down all the rules and regulations of the game.
  • In 1965 the ‘Imperial Cricket Conference’ was renamed the ‘International Cricket Conference’ (ICC). It was still dominated by the British and the Australians.
  • In 1989 the ICC offered equal membership to all the cricketing nations.
  • South Africa was still under the apartheid rule. India and Pakistan refused to play matches in South Africa , in support of the Africans’ fight for freedom.
  • The South African cricket tour was cancelled in 1970. It was a silent victory against white domination in that country.
  • Soon South Africa gained Independence, and the game of cricket became very popular in all the Commonwealth countries. Healthy competition prevailed.

The International Cricket Council (ICC)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) is the international governing body of cricket. It was founded as the Imperial Cricket Conference in 1909 by representatives from England, Australia and South Africa. It was renamed the International Cricket Conference in 1965. It was named International Cricket Council in 1989.

The ICC has 101 members: 10 Full Members that play official Test matches, 33 Associate Members, and 58 Affiliate Members. The ICC is responsible for the organization and governance of cricket's major international tournaments, most notably the Cricket World Cup. It also appoints the umpires and referees that officiate at all sanctioned Test matches, One-Day Internationals and Twenty20 Internationals. It promulgates the ICC Code of Conduct, which sets professional standards of discipline for international crickets, and also co-ordinates action against corruption and match-fixing through its Anti-Corruption and Security Unit.



International Cricket Council

Logo of the ICC

Formation June 15, 1909
Headquarters Dubai, UAE
Membership 101 member countries

Test Your Skills Now!
Take a Quiz now
Reviewer Name