Coupon Accepted Successfully!


Hockey and Polo

Let us have a brief look at 2 other popular team sports - Hockey and Polo

Hockey :-
is one of a family of sports in which two teams compete by trying to maneuver a ball, or a hard, round disc called a puck, into the opponent's net or goal, using a hockey stick.

There are two variants to the game - Field Hockey and Ice-hockey

                                                   Field Hockey

Field Hockey at Melbourne University

Field hockey is played on gravel, natural grass, sand-based or water-based artificial turfs, with a small, hard ball. The game is popular among both males and females in many continents of the world, particularly in Europe, Asia, Australasia, and South Africa. In most countries, the game is played between single-sex sides, although it can be played by mixed-sex sides. In the United States and Canada it is played predominantly by women.

The 116-member governing body is the International Hockey Federation (FIH). Field Hockey has been played at each summer Olympic Games since 1908 (except 1924). Modern field hockey sticks are J-shaped and constructed of a composite of wood, glass fibre or carbon fibre (sometimes both) and have a curved hook at the playing end, a flat surface on the playing side and curved surface on the rear side.

                                                   Ice Hockey

A Game of Ice Hockey

Ice hockey is played on a large flat area of ice, using a three inch (76.2 mm) diameter vulcanized rubber disc called a puck. This puck is often frozen before high-level games to decrease the amount of bouncing and friction on the ice. The game is contested between two teams of skaters. The game is played all over North America, Europe and in many other countries around the world to varying extent.

The 64-member governing body is the International Ice Hockey Federation, (IIHF). Men's ice hockey has been played at the Winter Olympics since 1924, and was in the 1920 Summer Olympics. Women's ice hockey was added to the Winter Olympics in 1998. North America's National Hockey League (NHL) is the strongest professional ice hockey league, drawing top ice hockey players from around the globe. The NHL rules are slightly different from those used in Olympic ice hockey - the periods are 20 minutes long, counting downwards. There are three periods.


Hockey is India’s National Game



A Game of Polo in Progress

Polo is a team sport played outdoor on horseback in which the objective is to score goals against an opposing team. Riders score by driving a white wooden or plastic ball (size 3–3.5 inches, weight 4.25–4.75 ounces) into the opposing team's goal using a long-handled mallet. Goals are only valid if the scoring rider is mounted. The traditional sport of polo is played outdoors, and each polo team consists of four riders and their mounts. Play occurs in seven-minute periods, called chukkas. Six chukkas is the normal length of play; however, depending on league rules, matches can also have four or eight chukkas.

As a team game cricket has dominated the Indian horizon. The Indian National game- Hockey- is not as popular as cricket.

Let us take a brief look at our national game- hockey, and Polo , a game that was invented in India.

For your Information
The Indian team's greatest successes came in 1983, when they won the Cricket World Cup under the captaincy of Kapil Dev, and in 1999/2000 when they won the Under-19 World Cup under the captaincy of Mohammad Kaif. India's most successful captain in Test cricket is Sourav Ganguly, who has won 21 of his 49 Tests at the helm.

Mithali Raj led India to its best result in Women's ODI cricket when the team advanced to the finals of the 2005 Women's Cricket World Cup. Raj is also one of the three women's captains who have led their side to a victory in women's Test cricket, the others being Shantha Rangaswamy and Mamatha Maben.


                                    First Twenty20 World Cup 2007

The Twenty 20 Logo


The inaugural event for the first Twenty20 world cup 2007,was staged at South Africa from September 11, 2007 to September 24, 2007. India defeated Pakistan by five runs in the final of the 2007 ICC World Twenty20 at Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg, South Africa.

The Inaugural Series was won by the Indians

  • The second Twenty20 world cup 2009 was held in England from 5th to 21st of June.

Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka to win the cup at the lords in the finals.


Next Twenty20 Cricket World Cup Schedule

  • Sri Lanka will host in 2011.
  • Bangladesh will host in 2013.

Test Your Skills Now!
Take a Quiz now
Reviewer Name