Coupon Accepted Successfully!


Montane Forests



Montane forests can be classified into 3 regions:

  • Wet Temperate Forests
  • Temperate Forests
  • Alpine Forests

Wet Temperate Forests

  • Wet temperate type of forests are found between a height of 1000 and 2000 metres.
  • Trees that are predominant in these forests are broad-leafed oak trees and chestnut trees.

Temperate Forests

  • Temperate Forests can be found at a height of 1500 to 3000 metres.
  • Coniferous trees like pine, deodar, silver fir, spruce and cedar, are found here.
  • These forests cover mostly the southern slopes of the Himalayas.
  • They are also found in places of high altitude in southern and north-east India.

Alpine Forests

  • Alpine Forests are found at high altitudes, generally more than 3,600 metres above sea-level.
  • Silver fir, junipers, pines and birches are the common trees of these forests.
  • At higher altitudes, mosses and lichens form part of the natural vegetation.

The common animals found in the Montane forests are Kashmir stag, spotted dear, wild sheep, jack rabbit, Tibetan antelope, yak, snow leopard, squirrels, wild ibex, bear, red panda, sheep and goats.

Animals Found in the Montane Forests


Test Your Skills Now!
Take a Quiz now
Reviewer Name