Coupon Accepted Successfully!


The Coastal Plains


There are two Coastal Plains in Southern India:

 (i) The Eastern Coastal Plain.

(ii) The Western Coastal Plain.

(i) The Eastern Coastal Plain
The Eastern Coastal Plain is a wide stretch of land lying between the Eastern Ghats and the Bay of Bengal. It stretches from Tamil Nadu in the south to West Bengal in the north. A major portion of these plains are formed by the Deltas of many rivers. The Mahanadi, Godavari, Kaveri and Krishna rivers flow through these plains.


The region receives both the Northeast and Southwest monsoon rains. The annual rainfall averages between 1,000 mm and 3,000 mm.

The width of the plains varies between 100 to 130 km.

The plains are divided into five regions:

 1. The Mahanadi delta

2. The Southern Andhra Pradesh plain

3. The Krishna Godavari Deltas

4. The Kanyakumari Coast

5. Coromandel Coast

(ii) The Western Coastal Plain
The Western Coastal Plain is a narrow strip of land that is sandwiched between the Western Ghats and the Arabian Sea. The strip begins in Gujarat in the north and extends across the states of Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka and Kerala.


The width of the plains varies between 50 to 100 km.

Small rivers and numerous backwaters inundate the region. The rivers, which originate in the Western Ghats, are fast flowing and are mostly perennial. The fast flowing rivers form estuaries rather than deltas. Major rivers flowing into the sea are the Tapi, Narmada, Mandovi and Zuari.

The Western plains are divided into three regions:

 1. The Konkan Coast

2. The Kanara Coast

3. The Malabar Coast

The Malabar Coast has its own unique eco region known as the Malabar Coast moist forests.

Test Your Skills Now!
Take a Quiz now
Reviewer Name