Coupon Accepted Successfully!


Classification of fungal spores

  1. Sexual spores-Zygospore, Ascospore, Basidiospore
  2. Asexual spores
    1. Blastospore (budding yeast cell, Candida spp.)
    2. Arthrospore (mold form of C. immitis)
    3. Chlamydospore (Candida albicans)
    4. Microconidia (single-celled conidia)
    5. Macroconidia (multicelled conidia, Microsporum spp.)
    6. Sporangiospore (Rhizopus spp., Mucor spp.)


Perfect state (sexual stage) of a fungus is known as Teleomorph whereas imperfect state (asexual stage) is known as Anamorph. Both are separately classified and named for a genus and the species. A single organism may produce both anamorphs and teleomorphs therefore; many fungi have more than one name. Different names do not describe different organisms rather they describe different reproductive types.




Histoplasma capsulatum

Ajellomyces capsulatus

Blastomyces dermatitidis

Ajellomyces dermatitidis

Cryptococcus neoformans

Filobasidiella neoformans


Trichophyton spp.

Microsporum spp.

Arthroderma spp.


Test Your Skills Now!
Take a Quiz now
Reviewer Name