Coupon Accepted Successfully!



Normal response to the loss of a loved object. There are three phases of grief.
  1. Shock: for few hours to weeks, numbness, denial, disbelief
  2. Preoccupation with the deceased: anger, sadness, thoughts of dead, identification with dead; 4-6 weeks
  3. Resolution: forming new relations, regaining interest in activities

Pathological Grief - It is a deviation from normal Grief.
i.e. either the Grief is
- Delayed - No Grief for 15 days
- Prolonged -- Grief for > 6 months

How to differentiate Bereavement, Grief and Mourning?

Bereavement is the objective state following loss of loved one Grief is the reaction to the state of bereavement or loss of loved object Mourning is the method of expression of grief and is culturally influenced.
If a person has recently lost his close relative, he is considered to be in state o bereavement Following bereavement of loss of loved one, the stages of different emotions the person goes through is called grief. Expressions of wearing pure white or black dress, et. Are modes of expression of grief, called mourning


There could be complication in the Grief

  1. It is need to differentiate from normal Grief.
  2. Psychosis -- started heaving voices or seeing somebody.



- Guilt about dead person, survivor
guilt, not able to take proper case.

- Guilt about other things.

- Wish as he would be dead,

- Thoughts of death, other than survivors feeling.

- Minimal worth less ness

- Severe worth less ness.

- Psychomotor retardation

- Marked psychomotor retardation

- Minimal or no functional impairment

- Functional impairment.

Test Your Skills Now!
Take a Quiz now
Reviewer Name