Coupon Accepted Successfully!


Defence Production Undertakings

  • Eight Public-Sector Undertakings (PSUs) currently function under the Department of Defence Production and Supplies. They are:
  • Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL): It has 12 factories located at Bangalore (5 factories), Koraput, Nasik, Karwar, Kanpur, Lucknow, Barrackpur and Hyderabad. It designs, manufactures and overhauls various types of aircrafts.
  • Bharat Electronics Limited (BEL): It has 9 factories located at Bangalore, Ghaziabad, Pune, Machhilipatnam, Taleja (Maharashtra), Panchkula (Haryana), Kotdwar (Uttaranchal), Hyderabad and Chennai. It is engaged in the design, development and manufacturing of electronic equipments.
  • Bharat Earth Movers Limited (BEML) : It has three factories located at Bangalore, Mysore and Kolar gold fields where heavy equipments like bulldozers, dumpers, loaders, cranes, etc are manufactured.
  • Bharat Dynamics Limited (BDL): It is located at Hyderabad to manufacture guided missiles.
  • Mazgaon Dock Limited (MDL): Located at Mumbai & its activities include shipbuilding apart from other works.
  • Garden Reach Shipbuilders and Engineering Limited (GRSE): It was set-up in Kolkata and is engaged in the construction and maintenance of warships and auxiliary vessels for Navy and Coast Guard.
  • Goa Shipyard Limited (GSL): It comprises construction and repair/refit of ships/vessels.
  • Mishra Dhatu Nigam Limited (MIDHANI): It is located at Hyderabad and manufactures sophisticated and strategic special metals and alloys for nuclear energy, aeronautics, space, etc.

Test Your Skills Now!
Take a Quiz now
Reviewer Name