Coupon Accepted Successfully!


Other Points To Ponder Upon

  1. Nirbhay is a long range (1000 km) subsonic cruise missile being developed in India by the Defence Research and Development Organisation.
  2. Indian Navy successfully test-fired the 290-km range Bramhos Supersonic Cruise Missile, capable of carrying a conventional warhead of 300 kg, from a warship off the Goa coast.
  3. Pakistan test fired cruise missile Babur with a range of 700km
  4. Iran has tested Fateh 110 missiles (Range - 300 km).
  5. Naval Offshore Patrol Vessel INS Saryu inducted into Indian Navy.
  6. Cochin Shipyard launched Aadesh the First Fast Patrol Vessel for Coast Guard..
  7. K-5 ballistic missile (strike range 1500 kms) successfully tested from an underwater platform in Bay of Bengal.
  8. India Successfully Test Fired K-15 Ballistic Missile in Bay of Bengal
  9. Indian Army gets its first indigenously-made Rudra attack chopper.
  10. ISRO has launched Indo-French satellite 'SARAL'(410-kg) with the Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle PSLV-C20 from Sriharikota. It will support in marine meteorology and sea state forecasting, operational oceanography, seasonal forecasting, climate monitoring, ocean, earth system and climate research


It was India's first Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru, a socialist who admired Joseph Stalin's drive to industrialize the Soviet Union, who in 1950 set up - and chaired - the Planning Commission to map out a development path for India's agrarian economy.India's Planning Commission will be renamed "Niti Ayog" (National Institution for Transforming India) as part of a plan to restructure the institution that the government believes has run its course.
NITI Aayog - Objectives and Composition
The institution to give life to these aspirations is the NITI Aayog (National Institution for Transforming India). This is being proposed after extensive consultation across the spectrum of stakeholders including inter alia state governments, domain experts and relevant institutions. The NITI Aayog will work towards the following objectives:
  • To evolve a shared vision of national development priorities, sectors and strategies with the active involvement of States in the light of national objectives. The vision of the NITI Aayog will then provide a framework ‘national agenda’ for the Prime Minister and the Chief Ministers to provide impetus to.
  • To foster cooperative federalism through structured support initiatives and mechanisms with the States on a continuous basis, recognizing that strong States make a strong nation.
  • To develop mechanisms to formulate credible plans at the village level and aggregate these progressively at higher levels of government.
  • To ensure, on areas that are specifically referred to it, that the interests of national security are incorporated in economic strategy and policy.
  • To pay special attention to the sections of our society that may be at risk of not benefitting adequately from economic progress.
  • To design strategic and long term policy and programme frameworks and initiatives, and monitor their progress and their efficacy. The lessons learnt through monitoring and feedback will be used for making innovative improvements, including necessary mid-course corrections.
  • To provide advice and encourage partnerships between key stakeholders and national and international like-minded Think Tanks, as well as educational and policy research institutions.
  • To create a knowledge, innovation and entrepreneurial support system through a collaborative community of national and international experts, practitioners and other partners.
  • To offer a platform for resolution of inter-sectoral and inter-departmental issues in order to accelerate the implementation of the development agenda.
  • To maintain a state-of-the-art Resource Centre, be a repository of research on good governance and best practices in sustainable and equitable development as well as help their dissemination to stake-holders.
  • To actively monitor and evaluate the implementation of programmes and initiatives, including the identification of the needed resources so as to strengthen the probability of success and scope of delivery.
  • To focus on technology upgradation and capacity building for implementation of programmes and initiatives.
  • To undertake other activities as may be necessary in order to further the execution of the national development agenda, and the objectives mentioned above
The NITI Aayog will comprise the following:
  • Prime Minister of India as the Chairperson
  • Governing Council comprising the Chief Ministers of all the States and Lt. Governors of Union Territories
  • Regional Officers

The full-time organizational framework will comprise of, in addition to the Prime Minister as the Chairperson:

  1. Vice-Chairperson: To be appointed by the Prime Minister
  2. Members: Full-time
  3. Part-time members: Maximum of 2 from leading universities research organizations and other relevant institutions in an ex-officio capacity. Part time members will be on a rotational basis.
  4. Ex Officio members: Maximum of 4 members of the Union Council of Ministers to be nominated by the Prime Minister.
  5. Chief Executive Officer : To be appointed by the Prime Minister for a fixed tenure, in the rank of Secretary to the Government of India.
  6. Secretariat as deemed necessary.

Test Your Skills Now!
Take a Quiz now
Reviewer Name