Coupon Accepted Successfully!


The Supreme Court

Judiciary is independent of the guidance of the legislative and executive bodies.

The Supreme Court came into existence by an act of the Parliament on 28 January 1950. The Supreme Court is in New Delhi. The President nominates the Chief Justice and other judges of the Supreme Court. At present, there are 31 Judges including the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.


Qualifications of a Judge of the Supreme Court

  • He must be a citizen of India.
  • He has been a judge of a High Court for five years continuously or
  • He has been an advocate of the High Court for ten years in continuation; or
  • He is a distinguished jurist in the opinion of the President.

Term of a Judge of the Supreme Court

A judge of the Supreme Court shall hold office until he attains the age of 65 years. He can resign from his office by making an address to the President.

Powers and Function of the Supreme Court

  1. Guardian of the Constitution and Fundamental Rights.
  2. The original Jurisdiction of the Supreme Court is purely federal in character. Matters relating to the problems and dispute arising between the states are taken up by the Supreme Court.
  3. Appellate jurisdiction—Citizens may file cases in the Supreme Court against the judgments given in the lower courts.
  4. Advisory powers—The Supreme Court may advice the President when he seeks its opinion on important public issues.
  5. Court of Records—The proceedings and judgments of the Supreme Court are kept preserved to be made use of in future cases and judgments whenever necessary by the lower courts.

Test Your Skills Now!
Take a Quiz now
Reviewer Name