Coupon Accepted Successfully!


Planning Commission in India


The Planning Commission was set up in 1950. The Prime Minister of India is the chairman of the Commission and the Commitee has a Deputy Chairman. Montek Singh Ahulwalia is presently the Deputy Chairman of the Commission.



  1. To make an assessment of material, capital and human resource.
  2. Suggest proper allocation of resources for implementation of the plan at each stage.
  3. To prepare a blueprint of the administrative machinery.
  4. To evaluate the implementation of the plan, etc.
  • The First Five Year Plan gave importance to agriculture.
  • The Second Five Year Plan focussed on industrialisation.
  • The Eighth Five Year Plan stressed on generation of a faster growth in employment.
  • The main objectives of the Ninth Five Year Plan (1997-2002) were as follows:
    • To ensure food and nutritional security.
    • To provide basic civic amenities.
    • To ensure employment of women.
    • To give priority to agriculture and rural development.
    • To reduce growth rate of population.
  • The Tenth Five Year Plan (1 April 2002 to 31 March 2007) had the following main achievements:
    • Rise in per capita income.
    • Increase in employment opportunities.
    • Development of infrastructural facilities, etc.
  • The Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007–2012) aimed at the following:
  • Increasing income and GDP and reducing poverty.
    • Increase literacy rate.
    • Decreasing infant mortality rate and maternal mortality rate.
    • Developing infrastructure in rural areas.
    • Adopting measures such as afforestation, treatment of urban waste and increase energy efficiency to protect the environment.
  • The Twelfth Five Year Plan (2012–2017) mainly focuses on faster, more inclusive and sustainable growth.

Test Your Skills Now!
Take a Quiz now
Reviewer Name