Coupon Accepted Successfully!


India’s Atomic Research

  • India’s journey to atomic energy research started with the establishment of the Atomic Energy Commission on Aug. 10, 1948, under the chairmanship of Dr. Homi J. Bhabha. Subsequently, the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) was established in 1954 for implementation of atomic energy programmes.
  • Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) was established in 1957 at Trombay (Maharashtra). It is India’s largest atomic research centre. Apsara (India’s first atomic reactor), Circus, Zerlina, Dhruva, Purnima I and II and Kamini (India’s first fast breeder nuclear reactor, at Kalpakkam) are the BARC’S atomic reactors.
  • BARC’S Research Centres: Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre (Kolkata), High Altitude Research Lab (Gulmarg), Nuclear Research Lab (Kashmir) and Seismic Station (Gauribidanur, Karnataka).
  • Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research was established in 1971 and is located at Kalpakkam (Chennai). The centre carries out research and development of indigenous technology of sodium cooled fast breeder reactors.
  • Centre for Advanced Technology (CAT) was established in 1984 and is located at Indore. The centre carries out research and development of high technology in fields like lasers, fusion and acceleration.
  • Pokhran Tests: India has so far conducted 6 nuclear test explosion. The first nuclear explosion was conducted on May 18, 1974 at Pokhran in Rajasthan. The others were conducted on May 11 and 13, 1998 at Pokhran range only. India’s main objective of conducting these tests is to use atomic energy for peaceful purposes.

Test Your Skills Now!
Take a Quiz now
Reviewer Name